The Charger Online

Teacher Feature of the Month: Q&A with Amanda Gulledge

Amanda+Gulledge+poses+with+her+kids%2C+Fisher+and+Emory.+Gulledge+is+new+to+the+school+district+this+year%2C+and+she+and+her+children+commute+from+Bruce%2C+Mississippi+each+morning.+
Amanda Gulledge poses with her kids, Fisher and Emory. Gulledge is new to the school district this year, and she and her children commute from Bruce, Mississippi each morning.

Amanda Gulledge poses with her kids, Fisher and Emory. Gulledge is new to the school district this year, and she and her children commute from Bruce, Mississippi each morning.

Courtesy of Amanda Gulledge

Courtesy of Amanda Gulledge

Amanda Gulledge poses with her kids, Fisher and Emory. Gulledge is new to the school district this year, and she and her children commute from Bruce, Mississippi each morning.

Rosie Frugé, Staff Writer

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.


Email This Story






The Charger staff sat down with art teacher Amanda Gulledge, who is new to the school district, to learn more about her life and what she did before teaching at OSD.

Q: Where did you grow up?

A: I grew up in Bruce, Mississippi. After college, I moved back there and have taught art in Calhoun County for the last 14 years. While there I coached cheerleading for 11 years, softball for four years and girls powerlifting for six years.

Q: What was your childhood like?

A: I grew up in a very loving, caring, Christian home with my Mom, Dad and younger sister.  Our days were filled with school, sports, band and family.

Q: Where did you go to college?

A: Itawamba Community College for Art–I cheered there–, University of West Alabama for Early and Elementary, Education–I also cheered there–and Delta State University for Masters in Education.

Q: What made you want to teach?

A: I have a passion for watching students learn. It is so much fun to see an art student finish and complete an image that they are proud of. I love to have a relationship with the students and for them to know that I love and care for them. Many of them do not have that at home. I strive for them to know that I am here for them. I love helping people.

Q: When did you move to Oxford?

A: I have not moved to Oxford yet. I am currently commuting from Bruce with my two children. Fisher (seventh grade) and Emory (third grade).

Q: As an art teacher, what is your favorite type of art?

A: I love the art of drawing and design. Many of my projects are geared toward step by step instruction, especially in my Visual Arts classes so that each and every student can create successful artwork.

Q: What do you do in your free time?

A: I spend most of my days watching my son play football, my daughter cheer at OC [Oxford Cheer]. During free time, we enjoy trips, games and relaxing!

Q: What are your hobbies?

A: I love to do anything that pertains to art, of course. I have a side business of designing invitations, flyers and party planning. I also designs T-shirts for a company in my hometown.

Rosie Frugé, Staff Writer

Rosie is a freshman at Oxford High School and this is her first year writing for The Charger. She is very excited to join the staff this year. In her free...

Navigate Left
  • Teacher Feature of the Month: Q&A with Amanda Gulledge

    Features

    OHS alumnus returns to revive book club

  • Teacher Feature of the Month: Q&A with Amanda Gulledge

    Features

    Teacher Feature of the Month: Q&A with Amanda Witt

  • Teacher Feature of the Month: Q&A with Amanda Gulledge

    Features

    Student artists win top prizes for photography

  • Teacher Feature of the Month: Q&A with Amanda Gulledge

    Features

    Sibling duos compete at regional, state science fairs

  • Teacher Feature of the Month: Q&A with Amanda Gulledge

    Features

    Freelon wins gold key in national art competition

  • Teacher Feature of the Month: Q&A with Amanda Gulledge

    Features

    French teacher travels world, shapes personality

  • Teacher Feature of the Month: Q&A with Amanda Gulledge

    Features

    Franklin wins first in Regional Poetry Out Loud contest

  • Teacher Feature of the Month: Q&A with Amanda Gulledge

    Features

    More Than A Coach: The reality of living in the spotlight as the child of a coach

  • Teacher Feature of the Month: Q&A with Amanda Gulledge

    Features

    Calhoon breaks season scoring record

  • Teacher Feature of the Month: Q&A with Amanda Gulledge

    Features

    Wally takes job as district business manager, Beard takes over classes

Navigate Right
The official news source for Oxford High School
Teacher Feature of the Month: Q&A with Amanda Gulledge